NACU Creates Boyer Award Society in Celebration of 25th Anniversary

April 5
Ernest Boyer

In honor of its 25th anniversary, the New American Colleges and Universities (NACU) has created the Boyer Award Society to sustain the legacy of Ernest L. Boyer.

While serving as president of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, Boyer addressed institutions that would eventually become the founding members of NACU as he called for a “New American college.” Boyer’s contributions, as well as his profound impact on how we understand undergraduate education, gave rise to NACU, a national consortium of private, comprehensive colleges and universities that are recognized for advancing the integration of liberal education, professional studies, and civic engagement. 

In 2011, NACU established the prestigious Ernest L. Boyer Award, which is given annually at a national conference to honor Boyer’s impact on American education and to recognize those in higher education who have made significant contributions through their scholarship and leadership. Past recipients of the Boyer Award include: Nancy Cantor, Frederick M. Lawrence, Jose Antonio Bowen, Beverly Daniel Tatum, Cathy N. Davidson, Ira Harkavy, Edward L. Ayers, Carol Geary Schneider, Betsy Barefoot and John Gardner, and Alexander and Helen Astin.

Having established the Boyer Award Society with the purpose of supporting this award, NACU is proud to announce that Elon University, Elon, N.C., has joined the current NACU campuses to become a founding member of the Boyer Award Society, contributing at the highest level of commitment.

“NACU is grateful for the support of this important award that honors leaders who contribute to improving society by preparing its students to become extraordinary civic-minded professionals,” said Sean Creighton, president of NACU. “Further, we are grateful for colleges and universities that are perpetuating quality and innovation in higher education.”

For more information on supporting the Boyer Award Society, please contact Sean Creighton.